Religious diets and dates

People following a religion will usually be following a set of rules associated with food. It’s good to know these general pointers to make sure you don’t cause offence or embarrass your guests.

icnfd-christianityChristianity
Most Christians are Omnivores but some are vegetarian – ask your guests. Strict Christians may follow the restrictions pointed out in Leviticus of the Old Testament – if this is the case see Judaism restrictions.

Dates and details to note
Lent – Many Christians abstain from sweets for the Lenten period
Ash Wednesday and Good Friday – No meat

icnfd-txt-judaismJudaism
Jewish people follow certain rules around food. Here’s what you need to know.
Non kosher meat (meat previously wounded or killed in a non-ritualistic manner, the blood must be drained from the animal), pork.
Do not include meat and dairy/eggs in the same dish.
Jews don’t eat any animal with hoofs or any bottom feeders (like shellfish)
Visceral fat and sciatic nerves cannot be eaten – best look for a Kosher butcher.
Grapes/wine produced by non-Jews is not drunk.
Utensils used for meat cannot be used for dairy. Utensils used for non-kosher food cannot be used for kosher food..

icnfd-hinduHinduism
What you need to know about the Hindu diet.
Many following the Hindu religion abstain from meat, fish, poultry, eggs. Some Hindus do eat meat, but not beef. Strict Hindus also avoid garlic, onions, mushrooms, alcohol and caffeine.

Fasting is a common spiritual practice in Hinduism but the guest is unlikely to accept your invitation if they are planning to fast on that day.

icnfd-buddhismBuddhism
What you need to know about the Buddhist diet
No set dietary laws though many Buddhists are vegetarian and vegan. Some also abstain from onion, garlic and leek.

Islam                                                                                                                                           icnfd-islamicMuslims don’t eat pork, gelatine, lard, non-Halal meat, blood, alcohol, carnivorous animals, rennet (commonly found in hard cheeses) and many partake in voluntary fasting on Mondays and Thursdays. Religious dates to note include:

Ramadan (9th month of Muslim Calendar) – Fast from dawn to dusk
Eid al-Fitr – Breaking the fast with special meals
Eid al-Adha – Special meals
Day of Ashura (10th day of first islamic month) – Voluntary fast

Look out for recipes on the Indulge Me Food app that take these factors into consideration.

Monique Chambers

Monique Chambers

Monique started indulge in 2011 and has since created Indulge Me GIFT and Indulge Me FOOD and volume 1 of The Artists Directory - Malta. A marketing professional by trade, Monique's passion is to promote local talent and Malta in general. Free time is her biggest indulgence, when she can tinker in her craft room or the kitchen, or be selfish with a book, the sofa and good glass of wine (of course, wearing something beautiful and with freshly coiffed hair!)